Learn To Skate

Ice Skating - Figure Skating - Hockey

Learn To Skate

Ice Skating - Figure Skating - Hockey

In today's fast-paced world, children juggle more tasks than ever.

As they conquer challenges on their paths to amazing, new worlds well beyond the world of skating will happen right before their eyes.

Learn to Skate USA® teaches your kids lessons to sharpen their focus and provide greater balance on and off the ice.

Upcoming Classes

Fall (2nd Session)

Sunday, September 10, 2023 @ 3p - Family Fun Skate

Sunday, September 17, 2023 @ 3p - Class 1

Sunday, September 24, 2023 @ 3p - Class 2

Sunday, October 1, 2023 @ 3:45p - Class 3

Sunday, October 8, 2023 @ 3p

Sunday, October 15, 2023 @ 3p

Sunday, October 22, 2023 @ 3p

Sunday, October 29, 2023 @ 3p - Halloween Fun Skate

Winter (1st Session)

Sunday, November 5, 2023 @ 3p - Class 1

Saturday, November 11, 2023 @ 3p - Family Fun Skate

Sunday, November 19, 2023 @ 3p

Sunday, November 26, 2023 @ 3p

Saturday, December 2, 2023 @ 3p

Sunday, December 10, 2023 @ 3p

Sunday, December 17 , 2023@ 3p

Friday, December 22, 2023 @ 5:45p - Christmas Skate

Winter (2nd Session)

Sunday, Jan 7, 2024 @ 3p - Family Fun Skate

Sunday, Jan 14, 2024 @ 3p - Class 1

Sunday, Jan 21 , 2024 @ 3p - Class 2

Sunday, Jan 28, 2024 @ 3p - Class 3

Sunday, Feb 4 , 2024 @ 3p - Class 4

Sunday, Feb 11, 2024 @ 3p - Class 5

Sunday, Feb 18, 2024 @ 3p - Class 6

Spring (1st Session)

Sunday, March 24, 2024 @ 3p - Class 1

Saturday, March 30, 2024 @ 3p - Family Fun Skate

Sunday, April 7, 2024 @ 3p - Class 2

Sunday, April 14, 2024 @ 3p - Class 3

Sunday, April 21 , 2024@ 3p - Class 4

Sunday, April 28, 2024 @ 3p - Class 5

Sunday, May 5, 2024 @ 3p - Class 6

Program includes

  • 6 Weekly Sessions (one day per week)

  • 30-minute Skating Lessons

  • 30-minute Practice Times

  • 2 Public session passes to be used during the session of classes

Why Choose
Learn to Skate USA

Our comprehensive method teaches everything from the basic fundamentals to advanced skating skills.

Skaters can attend classes anywhere, learning the same elements from a standardized curriculum. It’s a successful system where many World and Olympic Team members started.

What sets us apart?

  • Instruction from background-screened and certified instructors

  • Instruction that follows a standardized curriculum founded in solid and fun skill progression]

  • A welcome packet that includes Learn to Skate USA® The Magazine, a Parent Handbook, and Record Book to keep track of your progress in class

  • Access to online educational material for skaters and parents

  • Secondary sports accident insurance

  • Email communications with upcoming events and educational information

  • The opportunity to participate in classes, performances, competitions and all Learn to Skate USA® activities

Snow Plow Sam Levels 1 - 4

Ages: 3-5 years old

Description: A four-level curriculum for our youngest skaters designed to develop preliminary coordination, balance, muscle control, and strength necessary to move on skates. Skaters will learn marching, gliding, dipping, swizzles, and stopping while participating in games and activities on the ice.

Basic Skills Levels 1 & 2

Ages:

6-15 years old

Description:

These first two levels of the fundamental "Basic Skills" emphasize on balance, forward skating, backward skating, gliding and stopping.

Basic Skills Levels 3-6

Ages:

6-15 years old

Description:
The "Basic Eights" introduce the fundamental moves: forward skating, backward skating, stops, crossovers and turns. After completion skaters can advance to more specialized areas of skating

Hockey Skating Skills

Ages:

4-17 years old

Description:
This class emphasizes proper skating skills aspiring hockey players need in game situations while wearing full hockey gear.

Skaters will develop on-ice balance, coordination, agility, basic skating skills, and basic puck control skills.

Required Gear:

Helmet with facemasks, shoulder pads, elbow pads, gloves, hockey pants, shin guards, hockey socks, hockey skates, and sticks. Mouthguards are strongly recommended, but not required.

(Please bring a water bottle and arrive early for class. Locker rooms are provided.)

Sign up

Learn To Skate

Welcome to East Alton Ice Arena,

where we are dedicated to providing the best ice skating experience for people of all ages and skill levels. Our facility offers a state-of-the-art rink, top-notch equipment, and a welcoming atmosphere for everyone to enjoy.

We are a community-focused ice arena, offering a variety of programs and events for the local area. Whether you're a beginner just starting out or a seasoned skater looking to hone your skills, we have something for everyone. Our knowledgeable and friendly staff is always available to assist with any questions you may have, and our on-site pro shop has everything you need to make the most of your time on the ice.

In addition to our regular open skate sessions, we also offer hockey leagues, skating classes, and private ice rental for special events and parties. Our facilities are available for rental to both individuals and organizations, making it the perfect place to host your next big event.

At East Alton Ice Arena, we believe that ice skating is more than just a pastime – it's a passion. Our commitment to providing a safe and enjoyable environment for everyone is what sets us apart from other ice arenas. We take pride in creating memories that will last a lifetime, and we look forward to serving you and your family for many years to come.

Visit us today and experience the magic of ice skating at East Alton Ice Arena!

Come play with us...

631 Lewis and Clark Blvd, East Alton, IL 62024, USA

East Alton Ice Arena

631 Lewis and Clark Blvd,

East Alton, IL 62024

(618) 243-7509

OPEN:

Everyday 8am - 9pm

Copyright © 2024

East Alton Ice Arena

Admin

All Rights Reserved

Designed by